Trailer Update: Finally Some Progress I Can Show

December 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

After doing nothing but unscrewing hundreds of nuts for several work days I finally have some progress I can show!  With my dad’s help I got half of the boards taken off last night!  I was hoping to have this stuff done sooner but, as with most projects, there are a lot of things you can’t really account for.  This is one of those.  In buying the used trailer (home-made at that) you never know what you’re going to get.  A whole bunch of the bolts were bent or all ‘crapped-up’ (that’s the best way I can put it) so they were more difficult than expected to take off.  I could have gotten a brand new trailer and I wouldn’t have to deal with this but for this size trailer it would have been a couple thousand dollars more, so the extra hours of work are worth it.  I did realize I need to go back through my preliminary schedule here soon and re-adjust.  I didn’t have any time in there for getting the trailer ready but obviously there is some so it’s all going to get pushed back.  So, I can’t work on it tonight unfortunately (I have ‘real life’ stuff to get done, like laundry and dishes and making Christmas gifts) but on Thursday I should be able to take the remaining boards off and really see what I am working with for a foundation.

First board is off!

Second board is off!

Dad is under there with his Saws-all chopping off the ‘crapped up’ bolts.

First blood of the whole project, I am amazed that it didn’t happen sooner!  I scraped the trailer… I am sure worse wounds are ahead! (hopefully I get to keep all of my fingers though…)

The boards are gone… well half are.

It is difficult to tell but my work cloths are filthy!  When I shower at night the water runs black… 🙂

My next steps are, like I say, Thursday to take the remaining boards off.  I then need to go pick up a couple new leaf springs for the third axle to be installed.  I need to figure out how to integrate my foundation exactly with this particular trailer (details to come soon).  I will weld (with the help of my amazing family members) the third axle on.  I think since I am at the welding part I may try to tackle the gooseneck portion of the trailer too.  I haven’t posted to much about that because I really am not sure what all is going on there yet… but I will!  I may need to adjust some of the structural steel on the trailer too, we will see as I figure out how I try to integrate with the trailer, I may have thought of a way around that.

In other news, I may have a sponsor for some tile also… I started my ‘Sponsors’ link in the upper right menu so that you can see who all has supported me through this project.  That’s it for now

Macy

Words?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trailer Update: Finally Some Progress I Can Show at minimotives.

meta

