Update 12.7.13

December 7, 2013 § 9 Comments

Just a quick update on things… 🙂

§ 9 Responses to Update 12.7.13

  • things look warmer. Look on You Tube for the packing bubble wrap, big bubbles, spray with mix of water,soap and bleach to prevent mold on the window and then put on the window, flat side on glass. cut to fit window. the sun will heat up pockets and it doubles the r factor for cold. still lets light in cause it’s clear. Can you put a heat tape on the line or a heat bulb, tape would be safer, has a temp on it, and leave cabanet doors open so heat can get in. Good luck

    • Macy M says:

      I have heat tape on it! It was -4, I guess there is a limit to that stuff! 🙂 I’ve ordered more heat tape and some better insulation, hopefully that will help, I was also toying with the idea of putting a safety infrared heater down there under the skirting plugged into a temperature sensitive outlet, just to take the edge off but I am not super pumped about the safety concerns. They are supposed to shut off if they get tipped over and the infrared ones arent supposed to get hot to the touch, I’m mulling it over… It’s not a real great year to test out the tiny house’s winter skills, I’ve heard over adn over that this is supposed to be our 100 year record for coldest winters… I suppose that may make it the PERFECT year to test though…. hmmm

  • Just me again this came across my news feed. Your into making check this out http://www.rexresearch.com/lightfoot/lightfoot.htm

    • Macy M says:

      This is awesome, I love these sorts of things, I have plans to try out the pop can solar heater! I’ll have to add this to my list, thanks for sharing!

  • Just read about your home in an article. It was so inspiring to see what you have built with your own two hands. They also mentioned your injury because of the fall from the roof. Bravo for your persistence! Both your home and your dog are gorgeous.

    One quick question- they said you were free of a mortgage forever- don’t you still have to pay for the land (mortgage or rent) or are there places that you can place it for free? It’s super cool that you built it so that it could fit on a flatbed and move anywhere.

    Congrats on following through on your dream. It’s amazing!

    • Macy M says:

      ‘They’ tend to embellish a little 🙂 I do still pay rent for the property, I pay a grand total of $200.00 a month plus about $6-$10 bucks for power and water so I live comfortable at that rate. Thank you SO much for your kind words!

  • Renee says:

    I love your lamp with the three hanging lanterns! May I ask where you got it from? (And your doggy pics are adorable, by the way – he’s such a cutie!)

Words?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Update 12.7.13 at minimotives.

meta

